Reap_and_Sow
The Reap_and_Sow Podcast
Rebuilding landscapes
0:00
-37:43

Rebuilding landscapes

Wetlands on the Belmont Estate
Transcript

No transcript...

I’ve been trying to remember at what point during lockdown I got to know the folks at Belmont Estate.

The pandemic is a bit of a blur to me now, and the detail has somehow slipped my mind.

What I do remember, is that when I announced I was stepping down from my career (as was), Belmont offered to host a lunch to discuss what future there might be for the Bristol Food Union.

The answer, it turned out, was none. But, as is so often the way, people remember kindness, and positive connections arose from the discussion.

The chefs who cooked the lunch, previously of The Ethicurean, have gone on to deliver private catering for the estate, and Bristol restaurant group, Season and Taste, now procure whole carcasses of regenerative, pasture-fed meat, for their kitchens.

At just 28 years old, future estate owner, Henry Rossiter has a lot on his plate. With an ambitious vision, a lifetime of commitment to his land, and a passion for ecosystems restoration, Henry spared time for a muddy meander around their newly created Somerset wetlands. We talked family, responsibility, Bristol hospitality and regional food economies.

0 Comments
Reap_and_Sow
The Reap_and_Sow Podcast
Exploring food, patriarchy and the social gastronomy movement
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Aine Morris
Recent Episodes